As fighting increases in, and around, the Iraqi city of Mosul, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement reminds all those involved to do everything they can to avoid injury to civilians and civilian infrastructure. It is especially important that health care facilities and personnel are protected.

Up to a million people could be forced to flee the city and its surroundings as the fighting progresses. The entire International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement stands ready to bring assistance to those in need during the coming days and weeks.

Under international humanitarian law, all parties to the conflict must do their utmost to spare and protect civilians and persons who no longer participate in hostilities such as detainees. They must do their utmost to verify that targets are indeed military objects. Safe passage should be provided for those who wish to leave the area. Explosive weapons with a wide impact area should be avoided in densely populated areas.

The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement has been working around the clock during the past few months preparing food, clean water, medicines and other essential items for those in need.

For more information, updates and interviews, please contact:

Iraq/regional

ICRC Baghdad: Sarah Alzawqari (+964) 7901916927, salzawqari@icrc.org

ICRC Amman, soon in Erbil: Ralph el Hage (+962) 7 7845 4382, relhage@icrc.org

IFRC Beirut, soon in Erbil: Stephen Ryan, (+961) 71 802779, stephen.ryan@ifrc.org

Global contacts

ICRC Geneva: Anastasia Isyuk, (+41) 22 730 30 23 or (+41) 79 251 93 02, aisyuk@icrc.org

IFRC Geneva: Reeni Amin Chua, +41 797 086 273, reeni.aminchua@ifrc.org

ICRC London: Matthew Morris, (+44) 7720040080, mmorris@icrc.org

ICRC Washington: Anna Nelson (+1)202 3611566, anelson@icrc.org

ICRC Moscow: Galina Balzamova, (+7) 9037840200, gbalzamova@icrc.org

Follow us on @ICRC, @ICRC_IQ, @ICRC_ara, @IFRC_MENA, @federation.

Fresh video footage and stills will be available on www.icrcvideonewsroom.org and www.ifrcnewsroom.org.

Related content
Media contacts

Stephen Ryan
Communications coordinator – MENA, IFRC
E: stephen.ryan@ifrc.org
T: @stiofanoriain
M: +961 71 802779

Metadata
National Society
Country
Themes